NDIA Space Division Honors Hyten And Sears

June 19, 2015 – The National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) Space Division has announced the 2014 recipients of its highest recognition, the Honorable Peter B. Teets Award.

The award recognizes public or private sector leadership or achievement that results in significant contributions to the development, introduction, operational contribution or support of space systems.

The Industry category honoree for 2014 is Kay N. Sears, President, Intelsat General, and member of the Space Foundation Board of Directors. Ms. Sears has been a strong and influential technology leader for over 22 years in the satellite communications industry and has extensive experience in delivering rapid-response solutions to both military and civilian agencies of the U.S. government. She is a key driver of technology innovation to support the global reach of government customers and has played a leading role in changing how U.S. government procures commercial satellite capacity, resulting in better service for the warfighter and savings for U.S. taxpayers. Ms. Sears has worked diligently to help focus defense industry on the critical need to advance the commercial/DoD partnership for continued technology strength for national security and is noted as a leader throughout the Satellite Communications Industry.

The Government category honoree for 2014 is General John E. Hyten, USAF, Commander Air Force Space Command. General Hyten has distinguished himself as a leader in space systems operations and development for over 34 years and has had an extensive record of success, innovation, and contributions to national security space, as well as continuous support for the industrial base and the National Defense Industrial Association. In his current role, he is responsible for organizing, equipping, training, and maintaining mission-ready space and cyberspace forces and capabilities for North American Aerospace Defense Command, U.S. Strategic Command, and other combatant commands around the world.

Selected by a six-person Award Committee, the recipients met criteria that include displaying notable influence, and in their distinguished service have made significant contributions that strengthened our national security by direct application of space capabilities or the enhancement of our industrial space technology base. This year’s winners extend a remarkable lineage of excellence in space achievement. Recent past winners include Ms. Betty Sapp and Mr. Jeff Harris (2013), Lt Gen Ellen Pawlikowski and Dr. Wanda Austin (2012), and Gen Willie Shelton and Ms. Joanne Maguire (2011).

The awards will be presented at the Annual Peter B. Teets Award Dinner on August 3, at the Westfields Marriott in Chantilly, Virginia. The dinner falls in conjunction with the 2015 NDIA Space Division National Security Space Policy and Architecture Symposium on August 4, 2015 at the TASC Heritage Center.