NASA Television To Air U.S. Astronaut Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony

Colorado Astronaut Kent Rominger is among the 2015 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame inductees. Image Credit: NASA

Colorado Astronaut Kent Rominger is among the 2015 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame inductees. Image Credit: NASA

May 27, 2015 – NASA Television will provide live coverage of the 2015 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame induction ceremony at 12 p.m. MDT on Saturday, May 30. The ceremony will take place at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex Space Shuttle Atlantis attraction in Florida.

Joining the hall of fame this year are NASA’s associate administrator for the Science Mission Directorate John Grunsfeld, and former astronauts Steve Lindsey, Kent Rominger, and M. Rhea Seddon.

NASA Administrator Charles Bolden, a 2006 hall of famer, and Kennedy Director Bob Cabana, inducted into the hall of fame in 2008, will deliver remarks at the event.

Grunsfeld was selected as a NASA astronaut in March 1992. A five-flight veteran, he logged more than 58 days in space, including 58 hours and 30 minutes of extravehicular activity during eight spacewalks. Three of his missions focused on repairing and upgrading NASA’s Hubble Space Telescope.

Lindsey was selected as a NASA astronaut in March 1995. A veteran of five spaceflights, he logged more than 1,510 hours in space. Lindsey served on several notable missions, including STS-95 alongside Sen. John Glenn, STS-121, the second Return to Flight mission after the loss of Columbia, and STS-133, the final flight of shuttle Discovery. He currently works as Sierra Nevada Corporation’s senior director and Dream Chaser program manager. Sierra Nevada Corp. Space Systems business area is based in Louisville, Colorado.

Rominger was selected by NASA to become an astronaut in 1992. A veteran of five spaceflights – three as pilot and two as commander – he logged more than 1,600 hours in space. Several of Rominger’s missions were integral to the beginnings of the International Space Station. As commander of STS-96, Rominger oversaw the first docking of a space shuttle to the space station. Rominger was born August 7, 1956, in Del Norte, Colorado. He graduated from Del Norte High School, Del Norte, Colorado, in 1974 and received a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering from Colorado State University in 1978, before pursuing a master of science degree in aeronautical engineering from the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School in 1987.

Seddon was selected by NASA in January 1978 and became an astronaut in August 1979 as part of the first U.S. astronaut class to include women. A three-flight veteran, she logged more than 722 hours in space. In addition to participating in and leading numerous science and medical experiments during her flights, Seddon also helped develop and implement a variety of programs and plans for the shuttle program.

This year marks the historic 25th anniversary of the Hall of Fame, which was conceived in the 1980s by the six remaining Mercury astronauts as a place where space explorers could be remembered. Past Hall of Fame inductees include Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab and Space Shuttle astronauts.

This year’s inductees comprise the 14th group of space shuttle astronauts named to the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame, bringing the total number of members to 91.

For NASA TV schedules and links to streaming video, visit: