CU Challenger, Columbia Memorial Event To Be Held February 3

University of Colorado Boulder alumni Ellison Onizuka and Kalpana Chawla, who died in space shuttle accidents 17 years apart, will be remembered on campus.

January 30, 2019 – The annual memorial event will be held on the University of Colorado Boulder campus at 9:39 a.m. Sunday, February 3, to honor the astronauts who perished in the Challenger and Columbia disasters.

The event will begin in front of the Regent Administrative Center. Air Force ROTC cadets will be conducting a silent march from there to the Columbia and Challenger memorials in Kittredge and to Col. Ellison Onizuka’s plaque by the Engineering Center. Onizuka, of the Challenger, was a member of CU’s AFROTC Detachment 105.

On January 28, 1986, Francis R. Scobee, Michael J. Smith, Ronald McNair, Judith Resnik, Gregory Jarvis, Christa McAuliffe, and CU Boulder alumnus and Air Force ROTC Detachment 105 graduate Ellison Onizuka lost their lives in the Challenger disaster.

The event will also honor those who perished during the February 1, 2003, space shuttle Columbia mission: Rick D. Husband, William C McCool, Michael P. Anderson, David M. Brown, Laurel Clark, Ilan Ramon and Kalpana Chawla, who earned her PhD from CU Boulder.