AIAA Announces Class Of 2016 Associate Fellows

September 15, 2015 – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has announced its Class of 2016 Associate Fellows. AIAA formally will honor and induct the class at its AIAA Associate Fellows Recognition Ceremony and Dinner on Monday, January 4, 2016 in San Diego, California, in conjunction with the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition 2016 (AIAA SciTech 2016).

“I sincerely congratulate the Class of 2016 Associate Fellows,” said AIAA President Jim Albaugh. “Each of these individuals has shown extraordinary commitment to furthering the advancement of science and technology in the aerospace community, and I look forward to helping to celebrate their achievements this January in San Diego. AIAA thanks them for their efforts, and we are excited to see the ongoing results of their continued efforts to shape the future of aerospace.”

The grade of Associate Fellow recognizes individuals “who have accomplished or been in charge of important engineering or scientific work, or who have done original work of outstanding merit, or who have otherwise made outstanding contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics.” To be selected as an Associate Fellow an individual must be an AIAA Senior Member in good standing, with at least twelve years professional experience, and be recommended by a minimum of three current Associate Fellows.

The Class of 2016 Associate Fellows from the AIAA Rocky Mountain Section:

  • Michael Anderson, US Air Force Academy
  • John Karas, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • James Nabity, University of Colorado
  • Marcia Politovich, National Center for Atmospheric Research
  • Jurgen Seidel, US Air Force Academy
  • View the full list of inductees here.