National Security Space Institute Redesignates Under Air Force Institute Of Technology

Image Credit: U.S. Air Force/Philip Carter

Image Credit: U.S. Air Force/Philip Carter

April 13, 2016 – Dr. Todd I. Stewart, Air Force Institute of Technology director and chancellor passed the National Security Space Institute’s guidon to Col. Richard B. Van Hook, NSSI commandant, at the NSSI re-designation ceremony April 1, 2016. The passing of the flag represents transferring control of the NSSI from the Eaker Center to AFIT.

The goal is to bring all space, cyber, and nuclear professional continuing education under one organization.

The Space Commission Report of January 2001 noted military space professionals lacked a dedicated development system designed to grow senior leaders, elevating the need for more space-specific education and training.

In 2004, the Air Force Space Command established the NSSI to provide continuing education and training to United States and select allied space professionals.

Approximately five years later, in 2009, the NSSI transferred to the Air University and was aligned under the Ira C. Eaker Center for Professional Development, Maxwell Air Force Base, Alabama. After consideration, leadership decided not to physically relocate the NSSI, but rather keep it in Colorado Springs, the center of gravity for the Department of Defense space community, said Col. Richard B. Van Hook, NSSI commandant.

Although realigned under AFIT, the NSSI will remain at its Peterson AFB location and classes for current and future NSSI students will be unaffected. The NSSI will continue to offer core classes and graduate more than 800 space professionals every year.