13th Annual Aviation Week Program Excellence Awards Announced

October 28, 2016 – Penton’s Aviation Week Network today announced the winners of its 13th annual Aviation Week Program Excellence Awards. The awards honor global aerospace and defense programs and projects, their leaders and their teams because they exemplify the best in value creation, leadership, adapting to complexity and executing with excellence.

Developed in 2004, the Aviation Week Program Excellence Initiative, which culminates annually in the Awards, was created in response to repeated concerns about the complexity and difficulty associated with managing and leading the aerospace and defense programs that make up the industry’s work.

“Given the technological, economic and political complexities that have to be mastered to successfully execute aerospace programs, being named a winner or a finalist is definitely an honor,” said Carole Rickard Hedden, Aviation Week’s Program Excellence project leader. “They exemplify not only the best in the industry, but also the best in terms of creating a culture, establishing a framework for success, and providing the opportunities for new leaders to develop.”

Winners were announced at the annual Aviation Week Network Program Management Symposium & Awards Banquet in Scottsdale, Arizona. The Symposium and Banquet preceded the Second Annual AerospaceDefenseChain Conference, jointly produced by the Aviation Week Network and SpeedNews Conferences. Finalists and winners received recognition, and winners are featured in Aviation Week & Space Technology magazine and at www.AviationWeek.com.

Winners of the 2016 Aviation Week Program Excellence Awards, selected by a panel of experts in program leadership and performance from industry, government and academia, are:

  • Special Projects Winner
  • National Cyber Range: Helping developing programs understand, mitigate cyber-attack and prepare people to defend U.S. systems

    Patrick Lardieri, Chief Engineer for the National Cyber Range and Lockheed Martin Fellow

  • Sub-System R&D Winner
  • James Webb Space Telescope Program: Delivering and supporting NASA’s eye into the first stars, galaxies and exoplanets

    Scott C. Texter, Telescope Manager-James Webb Space Telescope Program, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

  • Sub-System Production Winner
  • Mars Atmosphere and Volatile Evolution (MAVEN) Mission: Finding an answer to what happened to Mars’ rivers, lakes and oceans

    Guy Beutelschies, Director, Lockheed Martin

  • Sub-System Sustainment Winner
  • Javelin Life Cycle Contract Support: Total support of a premier shoulder-fired weapon, saving lives and money for the U.S. Army

    Richard Benton, JJV Vice President, Lockheed Martin Missiles & Fire Control

    John Halvey, JJV President, Raytheon

  • System R&D Winner
  • MH-47G New Build: Extending the value of a special operations workhorse through the redesign of its airframe

    Charles Dabundo, MH-47 Program Manager, Boeing Defense Space & Security

  • System Production Winner
  • Mobile User Objective System Program: Providing mobile, secure communications (“comms on the move”) globally to U.S. and allied forces based on a four-satellite constellation

    Iris Bombelyn, Vice President, Protected Communications, Lockheed Martin Space Systems

  • System Sustainment Winner
  • Project Marshall: Based in the U.K., Project Marshall transformed terminal air traffic management for 65 Ministry of Defense permanent overseas bases worldwide, allowing civil and military aircraft to operate safely in military terminal airspace

    Justin Barratt, Managing Director, Aquila Air Traffic Management Services

    Finalists were selected by the Aviation Week Network Program Excellence Awards Evaluation Team, which includes representatives from Boeing Defense, Space & Security, Elbit Systems of America, General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Honeywell Aerospace, Lockheed Martin Corp., Northrop Grumman Corp., and Rockwell Collins.

    For more information about Aviation Week Network’s Program Excellence Initiative, including a complete list of 2016 finalists, visit: